Skip to main content Skip to secondary navigation

The Precourt Institute for Energy is part of the Stanford Doerr School of Sustainability.

Stanford-CEC Energy Innovation Summit Agenda

Main content start

Stanford-CEC Energy Innovation Summit
January 29, 2024

09:00am - 09:30amOpening Remarks
 Roland Horne, Interim Director, Precourt Institute for Energy, Stanford University
 Arun Majumdar, Dean, Stanford Doerr School of Sustainability, Stanford University
 David Hochschild, Chair, California Energy Commission
09:30am - 10:30amPlenary Session : Pathway to Net-Zero (Electrification and Reliability)
 Panel Moderator:  David Hochschild
 Sally Benson, Professor of Energy Science & Engineering , Stanford University
 Jason Glickman, Executive Vice President, Engineering, Planning, and Strategy, Pacific Gas & Electric Company
 Nancy Pfund, Founder and Managing Partner, DBL Partners
 Steven Powell, President and CEO, Southern California Edison
10:30am - 11:15amPolicy Outlook Discussion
 Moderator: Arun Majumdar, Dean, Stanford Doerr School of Sustainability, Stanford
 Josh Becker, Senator, 13th District, State of California
 Henry Stern, Senator, 27th District, State of California
11:15am - 11:30amBreak
11:30am - 12:30pmBreakout Sessions
 I. Transportation
 Panel Moderator:  Marco Pavone, Associate Professor of Aeronautics & Astronautics, Stanford University
 Susan Handy, Professor, Environmental Science & Policy, U.C. Davis
 Ram Rajagopal, Associate Professor, Civil & Environmental Engineering and Electrical Engineering, Stanford University
 Anand Gopal, Executive Director of Policy Research, Energy Innovation 
 2. Buildings
 Panel Moderator: Merrian Borgeson, Director, California Policy, Climate & Clean Energy Program, Natural Resources Defense Council
 Jacques de Chalendar, Adjunct Faculty, Energy Science & Engineering, Stanford University
 Teddy Kisch, Senior Fellow, Decarbonization Strategy, Energy Solutions
 Ram Narayanamurthy, Deputy Director, Building Technology Office, Energy Efficiency & Renewable Energy, U.S. Department of Energy
 Mary Ann Piette, Associate Laboratory Director: Energy Technologies Area, Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory
 3. Industrial Decarbonization
 Panel Moderator: Steve Eglash, Director of the Applied Energy Division and Interim Chief Research Officer, SLAC National Accelerator Laboratory
 Claus Ekman, Energy Attache, Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Denmark
 Leora Dresselhaus-Marais, Assistant Professor of Materials Science & Engineering, Stanford University
 Avi Shultz, Director, Industrial Efficiency & Decarbonization Office, U.S. Department of Energy
12:30pm - 2:00pmLunch & Discussion: Clean and Equitable Energy Transition: Regulations and Implementation
 Moderator: Arun Majumdar, Dean, Stanford Doerr School of Sustainability, Stanford University
 Eddie Ahn, Executive Director, Brightline Defense
 Alice Busching Reynolds, President, California Public Utilities Commission
 Liane Randolph, Chair, California Air Resources Board
2:00pm - 3:00pmPlenary Session : Battery Manufacturing and Supply Chain
 Moderator: Yi Cui, Faculty Director, Sustainability Accelerator, Stanford University
 Rod Colwell, CEO, Controlled Thermal Resources Holdings, Inc.
 Chirranjeevi Gopal, Chief Technology Officer & Co-Founder, Mitra Chem
 Prabhakar Venkatraman, CTO, Sparkz
 Richard Wang, Founder & CEO, Cuberg
3:00pm - 4:00pmPlenary Session: Catalyzing Innovation via Data
 Moderator: Andrew McAllister, Commissioner, California Energy Commission
 Maximilian Auffhammer, Professor of International Sustainable Development, and Associate Dean in the Division of Social Sciences, U.C.-Berkeley
 Apoorv Bhargava, CEO and Co-founder, WeaveGrid
 R.V. Guha, Founder and Lead,; Fellow and VP, Google
 Amber Mahone, Managing Partner, E3
 Mallory Nobles, Associate Director, Data Science & Social Systems, Stanford University
4:00pm - 4:10pmClosing Remarks
 David Hochschild, Chair, California Energy Commission
 Roland Horne, Interim Director, Precourt Institute for Energy, Stanford University
4:10pm -5:00pmNetworking Reception & Poster Session: Evening reception including Stanford student research posters
5:00pm - 6:00pmCEC Student Information Session