Skip to main content Skip to secondary navigation

The Precourt Institute for Energy is now part of the Stanford Doerr School of Sustainability.


Main content start

DOE University Consortium EARNEST Kickoff
January 30, 2024

Overview | Agenda | Speakers 
Stanford-CEC Energy Innovation Day - Jan 29, 2024Government Energy Summit home.

Watch Session Videos!

09:00am - 09:30amOpening Remarks
 Roland Horne, Interim Director, Precourt Institute for Energy, Stanford University
 Arun Majumdar, Dean, Stanford Doerr School of Sustainability
 Kevin Lynn, Director, Grid Modernization, Energy Efficiency & Renewable Energy Office, U.S. Department of Energy
09:30am - 09:45amIntroducing EARNEST 
 Inês Azevedo, Associate Professor, Energy Science & Engineering, Stanford
09:45am - 
Plenary Session: Co-creation of Knowledge of Traditionally Underrepresented Communities
 Moderator: Holmes Hummel, Managing Director, Energy Equity & Just Transitions, Precourt Institute for Energy, Stanford
 Chad Nordlum, Energy Project Manager, Native Village of Kotzebue, Alaska
 Lisa Redsteer, Engineering Outreach Coordinator, Northwest Indian College
 Mari Rose Taruc, Energy Justice Director, California Environmental Justice Alliance
 Michael Wara, Director, Climate and Energy Policy Program, Woods Institute for the Environment, Stanford University
10:30am - 10:50amBreak
10:50am - 11:35amPlenary Session: How Can the University Research Ecosystems Support the Federal Goals for Decarbonization, Resilience, Affordability, and Energy Justice? 
 Moderator: Sally Benson, Professor, Energy Science & Engineering, Stanford University
 Tracey LeBeau, Administrator and Chief Executive Officer,  Western Area Power Administration
 Dan Reicher, Senior Research Scholar, Stanford Woods Institute for Environment, Stanford University
 Gene Rodrigues, Assistant Secretary for Electricity, Office of Electricity, U.S. Department of Energy
11:35am - 12:20pmPlenary Session: State Regulatory Challenges and Policy Solutions
 Moderator: David Victor, Professor; Peter Cowhey Center on Global Transformation Chair in Innovation and Public Policy, U.C.-San Diego 
 Alice Busching Reynolds, President, California Public Utilities Commission
 Joshua Byrnes, Board Member, Iowa Utilities Board
12:20pm - 1:20pmLunch & Roundtable Discussion: US-Mexico-Canada Energy Collaboration Opportunities
 Moderator:  Kevin Lynn, Director, Grid Modernization, Energy Efficiency & Renewable Energy Office, U.S. Department of Energy
 Eugene Tso, Deputy Director for U.S. and Americas in the Bilateral Affairs Division, Natural Resources, Canada
 Fedrico López de Alba, Acting Manager, Environmental Protection, Electricity Commission, Mexico
1:20pm -1:40pmRemarks: Steven Chu, Professor, Molecular & Cellular Physiology and Energy Science & Engineering, Stanford University
1:40pm - 2:20pmTechnical Session 1: Solutions for Remote or Isolated Grids 
 Moderator: Mani Venkatasubramanian, Professor, Electrical Engineering, Washington State University
 Claudio Cañizares, Professor, Electrical & Computer Engineering, and Executive Director of the Waterloo Institute for Sustainable Energy, University of Waterloo
 Quyhn Tran, Power Systems Engineer, University of Hawaii
 Michelle Wilber, Research Engineer, University of Alaska Fairbanks
2:20pm - 3:00pmTechnical Session 2: Challenges and Solutions for Interconnected Systems
 Moderator: Inês Azevedo, Associate Professor, Energy Science & Engineering, Stanford University 
 Saurabh Amin, Professor, Civil & Environmental Engineering, MIT
 Nils Angliviel de La Beaumelle, Ph.D. Student, Civil & Environmental Engineering, Stanford University
 Kamran Tehranchi, Ph.D. Student, Civil & Environmental Engineering, Stanford University
 Jean-Paul Watson, Senior Research Scientist, Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory
3:00pm - 3:30pmTechnical Session 3: Challenges and Solutions for Cities 
 Moderator: Venkat Banunarayanan, Vice President, Integrated Grid, NRECA
 Yilu Liu, Governor’s Chair for Power Electronics, University of Tennessee-Knoxville
 Rajeev Ram, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
 Parth Vaishnav, Assistant Professor, Sustainable Systems, Climate + Energy, University of Michigan
3:30pm - 4:00pmBreak
4:00pm - 4:50pmRoundtable Discussion: Expected Fundamental Research Contributions from EARNEST
 Moderator: Liang Min, Managing Director, Bits & Watts Initiative, Stanford University
 Jeff Dagle, Chief Electrical Engineer, Pacific Northwest National Laboratory
 Priya Donti, Assistant Professor, Electrical Engineering & Computer Science, MIT; Co-founder and Chair, Climate Change AI
 James McCalley, Professor, Electrical Engineering, and Electrical & Computer Engineering, Iowa State University
 Ram Rajagopal, Associate Professor, Civil & Environmental Engineering and Electrical Engineering, Stanford University
4:50pm - 5:00pmClosing Remarks
 Inês Azevedo
 Liang Min
5:00pm - 6:00pmNetworking Reception and Research Poster Session