Skip to main content Skip to secondary navigation

The Precourt Institute for Energy is now part of the Stanford Doerr School of Sustainability.

Main content start

Mark Zoback

Benjamin M. Page Professor in Earth Sciences, Emeritus
Mark Zoback is the Benjamin M. Page Professor of Geophysics and the Director of the Stanford Natural Gas Initiative at Stanford University. He co-directs SCITS Stanford Center for Induced and Triggered Seismicity (SCITS) and the Stanford Center for Carbon Storage (SCCS). Dr. Zoback conducts research on in situ stress, fault mechanics, and reservoir geomechanics. He is the author/co-author of over 300 technical papers, holder of five patents and author of two books. Reservoir Geomechanics, published by Cambridge University Press in 2007 is now its 15th printing. His online course, also entitled Reservoir Geomechanics, has been completed by over 10,000 students around the world. His new book, Unconventional Reservoir Geomechanics, written with Arjun Kohli, is being released by Cambridge Press in April, 2019. Dr. Zoback has received a number of awards and honors, including the 2008 Walter H. Bucher Medal of the American Geophysical Union. In 2011 he was elected to the U.S. National Academy of Engineering and in 2012 was elected to Honorary Membership of the Society of Exploration Geophysics. He was the 2013 recipient of the Louis NĂ©el Medal of the European Geosciences Union and named an Einstein Chair Professor of the Chinese Academy of Sciences. In 2015 he received the Robert R. Berg Outstanding Research Award of the AAPG and in 2016 received the Outstanding Contribution to the Public Understanding of the Geosciences Award from the American Geological Institute.


Ph.D, Stanford University, Geophysics (1975)
M.S., Stanford University, Geophysics (1973)
B.S., University of Arizona, Geophysics (1969)