Skip to main content Skip to secondary navigation

The Precourt Institute for Energy is part of the Stanford Doerr School of Sustainability.

Main content start

Seven Stanford faculty among 124 elected to the National Academy of Sciences

Two of the seven elected this year to the prestigious organization are senior fellows at Stanford’s Precourt Institute for Energy, and two others are faculty affiliates of the institute.

Adapted from a Stanford News article.

The National Academy of Sciences (NAS) announced 124 newly elected members, including seven Stanford University researchers. Scientists are elected to the NAS by their peers “in recognition of their distinguished and continuing achievements in original research.” The NAS provides advice to the United States government on matters related to science and technology.

Of the seven, Zhenan Bao and Harold Hwang are senior fellows at Stanford’s Precourt Institute for Energy, and Arthur Grossman and Tony Heinz are affiliated with the institute. All four have benefitted from the institute’s research funding and/or postdoctoral program.

The new members from Stanford are:

Zhenan Bao

Zhenan Bao: the K. K. Lee Professor in the School of Engineering and professor of chemical engineering. Bao is a member of Stanford Bio-X, the Stanford Cardiovascular Institute, the Wu Tsai Human Performance Alliance, the Wu Tsai Neurosciences Institute, and the Maternal & Child Health Research Institute; a senior fellow of the Precourt Institute for Energy; an affiliate of the Stanford Woods Institute for the Environment; and a faculty fellow of Sarafan ChEM-H.

Bao is the principal investigator of “Reinventing Plastics for Electronics, Energy, Biomedical Applications and Additive Manufacturing,” a research project funded by the institute’s Precourt Pioneering Projects program with the Stanford Woods Institute for the Environment. She is also a co-mentor with Yi Cui in Materials Science & Engineering and Jian Qin in Chemical Engineering of John Holoubek, a member of the first cohort of the institute’s Stanford Energy Postdoctoral Fellowship. Holoubek is designing electrolytes for energy storage and conversion, like producing ammonia and converting carbon dioxide into carbon-neutral fuels. Bao and Qin also are being funding by the institute’s StorageX Initiative for research on ion transport in concentrated electrolytes. Bao was also principal investigator or co-investigator on seven Precourt-funded seed grant projects since 2010.

Arthur Grossman

Arthur Grossman: visiting professor, by courtesy, of biology in the School of Humanities and Sciences (H&S). Grossman is a senior staff scientist in the Carnegie Institution for Science’s Department of Plant Biology. Carnegie Science has a facility on the Stanford campus. He is also an affiliate of the Precourt Institute.

Grossman and Ellen Yeh, Stanford School of Medicine, are researching making biofuels from algae, funded by the institute’s Strategic Energy Alliance. The two are co-mentors of Stanford Energy Postdoctoral fellow, Lev Tsypin, who is working with Botryococcus braunii for algal biofuels. In addition, Grossman is also a co-mentor with Matthias Garten, Stanford School of Medicine, of a member of the incoming second cohort of Precourt’s postdoc program, Liat Adler. She will work on optimizing photosynthesis for algal biofuels.

Tony Heinz

Tony Heinz: professor of applied physics in H&S and of photon science at SLAC. Heinz is also a principal investigator at SIMES; a member of the Stanford PULSE Institute; and an affiliate of the Precourt Institute.

Heinz is a co-investigator on a Precourt Pioneering Project, “Energy-Efficient 3D Electronics by Layer Transfer of Fully Patterned Low-Dimensional Devices,” with Eric Pop in Electrical Engineering, Andrew Mannix in Materials Science & Engineering, and Subhasish Mitra in Electrical Engineering and Computer Science. Precourt Pioneering Projects are funded at up to $450,000.

Harold Hwang

Harold Hwang: professor of applied physics in H&S and of photon science at SLAC National Accelerator Laboratory. Hwang is also director of the Stanford Institute for Materials and Energy Sciences (SIMES) and senior fellow at the Precourt Institute.

Hwang is co-mentor of a Precourt postdoc, Paulina Majchrzak, with Zhi-Xun ("Z.X.") Shen in Physics and Applied Physics. Majchrzak is developing a spectroscopic toolbox to uncover the mechanism governing the electrochemical activity in rechargeable battery cathodes. The Stanford Energy Postdoctoral fellows are fully funded for three years.

Three other Stanford faculty elected

Suzanne Pfeffer: the Emma Pfeiffer Merner Professor of Medical Sciences at Stanford Medicine and professor of biochemistry. Pfeffer is also a member of Bio-X, the Wu Tsai Human Performance Alliance, the Stanford Cancer Institute, and the Wu Tsai Neurosciences Institute, and a faculty fellow of Sarafan ChEM-H.

Jennifer Raymond: the Berthold and Belle N. Guggenhime Professor at Stanford Medicine and professor of neurobiology. Raymond is also a member of Bio-X and the Wu Tsai Neurosciences Institute.

Joanna Wysocka: the Lorry Lokey Professor at Stanford Medicine and professor of chemical and systems biology and of developmental biology. Wysocka is a member of Bio-X, the Stanford Cardiovascular Institute, the Institute for Stem Cell Biology and Regenerative Medicine, the Stanford Cancer Institute, and the Wu Tsai Neurosciences Institute.

The Precourt Institute, a university-wide designated policy institute, is part of the Stanford Doerr School of Sustainability.


Explore More